Musicophilia

Three Months On. . .

Posted in Talking by Soundslike on January 3, 2009

One-quarter year in, and it’s been a heck of a trip so far.  There’s been so much greater a response than I ever considered possible, and what began as “just a repository for old mixes” has become a real project, something that’s made a habit of which I was almost embarrassed seem worthwhile and quasi-respectable.  Even my girlfriend has said she approves of my “time well wasted”.  Three months, nearly 16,000 visits, 3,400 mixes heard, 21 mixes and albums posted, dozens of comments and links.  I thank each and every one of you who has listened, downloaded, commented, corresponded, told friends, and linked to or blogged about the project.  Your participation makes what could otherwise be a rather solitary hobby into something that feels like a community undertaking, and I encourage anyone to talk to me about cross-posts, guest-mixing, co-blogging, or any other project we can come up with.  I’ve got a lot planned, nearly 20 mixes nearing completion or under way, so I hope the well won’t dry up any time soon, as long as people trust their ears to mine.  This love of music is that much better when it’s shared.  As always, comments are very much appreciated, so let me know what you’d like to see next, or suggest ideas, make requests, etc.  Click the “more…” link for a visual summary of all the mixes issued thus far in chronological order, and a sneak-peak of what’s soon to come.  Check here and here for more information about Musicophilia in general.  Thanks, and I hope you’re enjoying the music.

1981_individual-mixes_ccomputer_small

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. D. Doyle said, on January 4, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    Mr. 1981,

    Congrats on the blog working out! I’ve been a faithful subscriber for about a month now and am enjoying the mixes. I have nothing to offer other than my willingness to listen and read what you have to say. I’ve gotta thank you in general, because I think most of my hard drive’s good stuff has come from you by way of Zac Harmon. Keep digging, and know that I’d have your back in a bar fight. -Daniel

  2. Soundslike said, on January 4, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    You’re the best, Mr. Doyle. And as far as having something to offer–you’re one of the people I’ve known in my life who has a truly exceptional talent to offer, and I’m thankful to have benefited from it many times. Tell Zac to get his ass guest-mixing here soon–Mike can’t monopolize all his listening skills through the Rhythm Room.


Leave a Reply

