Musicophilia

[Technical Difficulties] – A Plea for Help

Posted in Talking by Soundslike on March 3, 2009

drum_bw1

Hosting and Bandwidth?

Well, unfortunately that didn’t take long. . .  It seems that at least for some people, the audio streams at the brand-new Musicophilia Daily blog are non-funcioning: they simply “buffer” indefinitely.  This may be an issue with the way in which I was attempting to host the files (for free).  If anyone has this issue–please let me know.  So I ask for your help. Does anyone reading/listening to Musicophilia know a stable way to host an additional 5-20MB per day, with probably around 1500+/-MB bandwidth per day?  I can’t really afford to pay for hosting costs, but maybe they’re more reasonable than I realise–so does anyone know an inexpensive way to host files along those numbers?  Or, hope of hopes–is anyone out there a big fan of Musicophilia who has access to some hosting space and bandwidth who would contribute to the cause?  Don’t be shy now, friends–I need your help!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jodi said, on March 4, 2009 at 11:10 am

    Have you looked at Amazon S3?
    http://aws.amazon.com/s3/#pricing

    It seems like it would cost less than $10 a month with those sort of figures, which seems pretty reasonable to me.

  2. nosila said, on July 16, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    I’ve got about 3 days until I can post on Ask Metafilter again. (They only let you do it once a week.) If you haven’t figured out something by then, let me know, and I’ll see if anyone there has any ideas for you. It’s quite possible that someone there might even just offer to host it for you. (And people there pretty consistently recommend Amazon S3, by the way.)

  3. nosila said, on July 16, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Oh, shit, I just looked at the date on this. Uhhh…probably not very helpful. :)


Leave a Reply

