[Post-Punk] – ‘Post-Punk For Kids’ (1978-1984)

00_Main-Cover

Stream the mixes while you read; download at the bottom of this post.

Because as we all know, it’s never too early to get your kids wearing all black and sulk-shuffling to Joy Division, or sharpening their revolutionary politics with Gang of Four, we’re happy to present ‘Post-Punk for Kids‘.  Well, no, that’s not exactly what we’re going for.  Post-Punk, as I’ve argued, unfortunately stands in the shadows of its dourest proponents (much as I love them, too, at their best, like good ol’ JD).  This is particularly unfortunate in my opinion because most of what makes Post-Punk so great is that it’s not one aesthetic or mood, but rather a musical outlook essentially defined by a voracious appetite for musical adventure, tempered with some tendencies toward DIY restraint and artful taste.  And so the severely underrated, but completely essential qualities of Post-Punk are: playfulness, fun, even occasional joyfulness and silliness.  That’s what we’re going for here.  As 49 Americans say on “It’s Time,” “happy music doesn’t have to be dumb,” and that’s how Post-Punk does happy.

I made a version of this mix years ago for friends whose kids were at the time in the under-ten set.  Such young ones are opportunistically preyed upon by the Barneys the Purple Dinosaurs, the Kidz Bops, the Disneys of the world, who drill into nascent minds with their ruthless earworms, demanding total fealty to a very few tunes from minds that otherwise are prone to flit hither and yon with adventurous abandon.  More painfully, parents are dragged with their indoctrinated children into these cults of ‘Frozen’ or (at best) ‘Moana,’ hearing the tunes so relentlessly they nearly displace a prior lifetime worth of beloved music, and they find themselves singing them even in the shower in those few moments of solitude.  I admit: I don’t have kids.  And so these three short mixes, themed for “Wake-Up Time,” “Playtime,” and “Sleepytime,” are probably created out of total naivete.  (I’ve babysat nephews and niece for only a couple days at a time, and I’ll concede I didn’t make great inroads awakening them to the wide world of human creativity beyond ‘Boss Baby‘ and ‘Minecraft‘).  But still: I offer these three <32 minute mixes up to you parents of musical taste, in the slim hopes that your kiddos will mistake these buoyant, catchy Post-Punk tunes for the next big ugly thing from Dreamworks, and start to demand to hear The Cramps’ “Don’t Eat Stuff Off the Sidewalk” or 49 Americans “It’s Time” or or XTC’s “Helicopter” or Young Marble Giants’ “Salad Days,” and finally let go of *%&#@* “Let It Go” after its 4,973rd encore.  And if you don’t have kids–well, you could do worse for a Post-Punk booster shot.

Please, spend your kids’ college funds buying records and supporting these artists.  A university education will cost roughly $675,000 by the time they’re ready, anyway, so you’re better off building a music collection that they can inherit one day–and if you get them going early enough with these tunes, maybe they’ll even thank you for it. (A note on lyrical content: a lot of the music is sing-along safe, but I can guarantee no curses, and the rest is buffeted by traditional rock-lyrics inanity such that anything that even hints at grown-up stuff (love, pain, existential ennui, Feminist-Marxist philosophy) will be obscured by lyrical inscrutability and, more importantly, musical fun.)

Various – ‘Post-Punk For Kids
(1978-1984)
1. Wake-Up Time

01 [0:00:00] 49 Americans – “It’s Time” (‘We Know Nonsense’, 1982)
02 [0:02:35] XTC – “Helicopter” (‘Drums & Wires’, 1979)
03 [0:06:25] Depeche Mode – “Just Can’t Get Enough” (‘Speak & Spell’, 1981)
04 [0:09:55] The Feelies – “Fa Ci-La” (‘Crazy Rhythms’, 1980)
05 [0:11:55] Liquid Liquid – “Optimo” (‘Optimo’ single, 1983)
06 [0:14:30] Stick Men – “Mystery Party” (‘This Is The Master Brew’, 1982)
07 [0:16:05] The Raincoats – “No Side to Fall In” (‘The Raincoats’, 1979)
08 [0:17:50] Talking Heads – “Thank You For Sending Me an Angel” (‘More Songs…’, 1978)
09 [0:20:00] Wire – “Outdoor Miner” (‘Chairs Missing’, 1978)
10 [0:21:40] Plastics – “Robot” (‘Plastics’, 1981)
11 [0:24:35] Wipers – “Misfit” (‘Is This Real?” outtake, 1979)
12 [0:26:10] Lizzy Mercier-Descloux – “Mission Impossible” (‘Fire’ single, 1979)
13 [0:28:35] Family Fodder – “Film Music” (‘Film Music’ single, 1981)

[Total Time: 0:32:35]
2. Playtime

01 [0:00:00] The B-52s – “52 Girls” (‘The B-52s’, 1979)
02 [0:03:35] Bow Wow Wow – “Golly Golly Go Buddy” (‘See Jungle!…’, 1981)
03 [0:06:05] The Cramps – “Don’t Eat Stuff Off the Sidewalk” (‘Psychedelic Jungle’, 1981)
04 [0:07:55] Swell Maps – “Full moon In My Pocket” (‘A Trip To Marineville’, 1979)
05 [0:09:25] Devo – “Snowball” (‘Freedom Of Choice’, 1980)
06 [0:11:50] Half-Japanese – “Rave On” (‘1/2 Gentlemen/Not Beasts’, 1980)
07 [0:13:30] Chris & Cosey – “This Is Me” (‘Heartbeat’, 1981)
08 [0:16:25] The Slits – “I Heard It Through The Grapevine” (‘Typical Girls’, 1979)
09 [0:20:20] Jonathan Richman – “Buzz, Buzz, Buzz” (‘Back In Your Life’, 1979)
10 [0:22:15] Trio – “Da Da Da” (‘Da Da Da…’ single, 1982)
11 [0:25:35] Twinkeyz – “Moonbabies” (‘Aliens In Our Midst’ compilation, 1979)
12 [0:28:10] The Cure – “The Caterpillar” (‘The Top’, 1984)

[Total Time: 0:31:50]
3. Sleepytime

01 [0:00:00] Arthur Russsell – “A Little Lost” (‘Another Thought’ compilation, 1982)
02 [0:03:15] Durutti Column – “Sketch for Summer” (‘The Return of The Durutti Column’, 1980)
03 [0:06:10] New Musik – “This World of Walter” (‘Anywhere’, 1981)
04 [0:09:00] Gary Numan – “Stories” (‘Dance’, 1981)
05 [0:12:05] Antena – “Noella a Hawaii” (‘Ghosts of Christmas Past’ compilation, 1982)
06 [0:15:10] Scritti Politti – “The Sweetest Girl” (‘Songs to Remember’, 1982)
07 [0:21:15] Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark – “Souvenir” (‘Architecture & Morality’, 1981)
08 [0:24:45] Young Marble Giants – “Salad Days” (‘Colossal Youth’, 1980)
09 [0:26:40] Essendon Airport – “Wallpaper Music” (‘Sonic Investigations of the Trivial’ EP, 1980)

[Total Time: 0:32:10]

Download ‘Post-Punk for Kids (1978-1984)’ Here (136 MB)

Stream here:

 

Subscribe to Musicophilia | Follow Musicophilia on Twitter | Stream Musicophilia Mixes on Mixcloud | Join the Musicophiliacs Group on Facebook

 

7 thoughts on “[Post-Punk] – ‘Post-Punk For Kids’ (1978-1984)

  1. 1) I must really say, I’ve been checking in here off-and-on for over a decade, and your mixes have been such incredible curated pieces that helped to fundamentally re-shape what I look for in music. The sensory replication pieces were in particular wonderful to immerse myself in after college classes. It’s been a few years since I’ve looked around the old music blogs I used to keep up with, so it’s nice to see that you’ve continued making wonderful mixes. I’ve been enjoying the Old Souls mixes lately.

    2) Are the dl links to this and the 1980 set kill? MF seems to go back and forth between what kind of error they want to throw up these days.

  2. Goodness, wow–thank you for lending me your ears, and coming back around now and again for so long! It’s been thick and it’s been lean in different times–but while I haven’t been able to maintain quantity in recent times, I’ve tried very much to maintain or even raise quality. I can’t think of a more meaningful honor to me than to have helped “shape what [anyone] looks for in music”!

    So glad you liked the ‘Sensory Replication’ mixes–in a lot of ways, my favorites and most personal to make! And likewise that you’ve gone into the ‘Old Souls’ series, which document my falling in love with contemporary music en masse for the first time since I was a teenager!

    I’ll have to check on whether the ‘1980’ downloads have gone down–but if they have, I doubt there’s much I can do, been my policy not to re-upload if someone wants something taken down, even though I think long mixed mp3s are clearly more like podcasts than like piracy…

    Thanks again, made my day!

  3. Cheers! I hope it’s been gratifying to inspire so many listeners through your mixes; for a few years, in fact, not quite a decade ago now, I tried my own hand at mixes on SoundCloud. I would not say that they turned out better than yours, and perhaps only the smallest handful I think came to approach the quality of yours, but the experience of trying to match songs together, sometimes of vastly different moods and styles, was a fun experience, and I do owe making the attempt to your wonderful blog.

    By the by, the fellas at Dream Weapons have been trying to work out alternatives to using Mediafire and Mixcloud as of late. Perhaps Moahaha is worth discussing it a bit with, if the older services appear to be less friendly than they were.

  4. That’s very cool–can you link me to your mixes, would love to hear them. I really do enjoy the process, from conception to amassing tons of tracks to culling down to sequencing, mixing, artwork… It has become a lot harder to get the mixes heard these days, I think largely because the internet reverted to AOL-days-style silos and most people are satisfied with Spotify’s robots for all their music needs. But I figure that just means we’ve become “selective,” the folks that still listen with intent ; )

    Sadly I’m done with Mixcloud–Musicophilia is a pure labor of love and 100% money-loser for me, so I can’t justify paying them the $15 a month or whatever to be able to have more than 5 mixes. Found Hearthis.at which for now seems to be working for the (relatively few) new mixes I’m making. I’m not familiar with Dream Weapons or Moahaha–will look into both, thank you!

  5. I don’t think you’d find much new material via my own mixes, maybe a song here or there, but, for my part, I think the ones that get somewhat close to accomplishing what I wanted well were the following:

    https://m.soundcloud.com/not_bite/were-not-crazy-red-transistor-radio-no-37
    https://m.soundcloud.com/not_bite/were-not-crazy-red-transistor-radio-no-46
    https://m.soundcloud.com/not_bite/were-not-crazy-red-transistor-radio-no-50
    https://m.soundcloud.com/not_bite/were-not-crazy-red-transistor-radio-no-53

    I will warn that with the exception of #53 (a short mix by my standards!), they all tend towards overlong lengths, and the michevious inclusion of my favorite punk single to cap off every mix, hahaha. I suppose I’m happy with eps. 1 & 2 as well, I was very excited to start off with discoveries from blogs such as your own.

    I’m surprised Dream Weapons haven’t been on your radar yet (https://www.dreamweapons.net/); Moahaha, one of the regulars, has done a few mixes for the old Holy Warbles blog, if you’re familiar with that. If not, you may be in for quite a number of treats! In any case, they discuss some of their issues with Mixcloud and Mediafire in some recent posts. Hearthis seems to be one of the streaming options they use, and some other one I don’t recall the name of.

Leave a comment